Greenwich

Health and social care news

Faith inclusion work helps change attitudes towards disabilities

Published on Thursday, 24 May 2018

Leaders from a range of faith groups learned how to make their services more inclusive.

Enjoy a guided walk around Greenwich during National Walking Month

Published on Monday, 14 May 2018

May is National Walking Month so there's no better time to explore the great outdoors in Greenwich.

Virtual reality set to bring dementia to life at free event

Published on Wednesday, 09 May 2018

Experience what dementia is like for yourself at an event to mark Dementia Action Week.

Hefty fine for business caught selling illegal tobacco

Published on Tuesday, 24 April 2018

An illegal tobacco haul of almost 3,000 illicit cigarettes has led to a business being fined £7,550.

Football clubs urged to kick out junk food in open letter

Published on Wednesday, 11 April 2018

Royal Greenwich has joined celebrity chef Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall to encourage football associations, leagues and clubs not to renew sponsorship deals with junk food brands.

Royal Greenwich pledges greater protection and support for terminally ill workers

Published on Thursday, 22 March 2018

We are one of the first London Councils to sign a voluntary charter offering greater protection of terminally ill employees' rights.

New Live Well Greenwich service offers advice in person, on the phone or online

Published on Friday, 09 March 2018

Residents can now get support in the way that best suits them.

Free blood pressure checks now available in pharmacies

Published on Friday, 23 February 2018

Pharmacies around Royal Greenwich are now offering free blood pressure checks.

Get advice on your drinking with free online alcohol tool

Published on Thursday, 01 February 2018

Understand your alcohol intake and what it means for your health by using the Royal Borough of Greenwich's new free online tool.

Quit smoking for good with the Greenwich Stop Smoking roadshow

Published on Wednesday, 24 January 2018

The roadshow is touring the borough over the next seven weeks.

Roadshow launches on special anniversary for organ recipient

Published on Monday, 08 January 2018

The Royal Borough's roadshow encourages people to talk about organ donation.

New look for Local Offer website

Published on Friday, 22 December 2017

The updated website is even more accessible for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND), their families and professionals.

Ban on sugary drinks to help tackle obesity

Published on Monday, 18 December 2017

The Royal Borough has announced its latest initiatives to drive down obesity.

Promise renews Royal Borough's commitment to young people in care

Published on Wednesday, 13 December 2017

Providing a safe and happy home and offering support are among the new pledges.

Organisations recognised for their healthy and happy workplaces

Published on Tuesday, 21 November 2017

The eight organisations met the criteria to achieve the Healthy Workplace Charter.

Get tested during Greenwich Sexual Health Week

Published on Thursday, 16 November 2017

Residents can get a free and confidential sexual health screen and HIV test.

Royal Greenwich scores top spot in Good Food for London league table

Published on Tuesday, 07 November 2017

The Council demonstrated leadership on healthy and sustainable food.

Help improve local pharmacies by sharing your views

Published on Thursday, 26 October 2017

Complete our short survey about your experiences with local pharmacies.

Residents urged to sign organ donor register

Published on Monday, 23 October 2017

The Royal Borough of Greenwich is urging residents to sign up to the organ donor register to help save more lives.

Help spot and stop modern slavery

Published on Tuesday, 17 October 2017

Residents are being urged to look out for the tell-tale signs of the 'hidden crime' of modern slavery.

Blood Pressure roadshow makes staying healthy easier

Published on Tuesday, 17 October 2017

The Royal Borough of Greenwich has teamed up with Charlton Athletic Community Trust for the 'Blood Pressure - Be Sure' roadshow.

Children in care and care leavers celebrated at awards ceremony

Published on Thursday, 12 October 2017

Their incredible achievements were recognised at the annual Looked After Children Awards.

You can help improve adult social care in the Royal Borough

Published on Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Have your say in developing and improving adult social care by joining the focus group.

Priorities revealed for children and young people in Greenwich

Published on Tuesday, 15 August 2017

The three year plan makes sure that every child has a happy and fulfilled childhood.

Give your baby the best start in life

Published on Friday, 28 July 2017

World Breastfeeding Week is 1 to 7 August and local parents can get lots of advice.

Funding received to meet the needs of looked after children

Published on Wednesday, 19 July 2017

The £1m award came from the Department for Education's innovation fund.

People with learning disabilities invited to special event

Published on Monday, 17 July 2017

The first 'Have Your Say' day was held at Charlton House on 10 July.

Neglect Matters campaign launches

Published on Monday, 19 June 2017

The campaign tackles neglect, the most common form of child abuse.

Become a carer during Shared Lives week

Published on Monday, 12 June 2017

Provide life-changing support for vulnerable adults within your own home.

Celebrate our outstanding care homes

Published on Wednesday, 07 June 2017

Free events are taking place on Friday 16 June for the national Care Home Open Day.

Apply to foster during Foster Care Fortnight

Published on Monday, 08 May 2017

Foster Care fortnight runs from Monday 8 to Sunday 21 May.

Dementia Awareness Week marked with free event

Published on Thursday, 04 May 2017

The Royal Borough of Greenwich event takes place on Wednesday 17 May 2017.

New campaign launched to raise awareness of self injury

Published on Wednesday, 01 March 2017

Updated information and advice hub goes live on World Self Injury Awareness Day.

Happy New You roadshow launched

Published on Monday, 16 January 2017

The roadshow helps you find ways to live a happier, healthier life.

Greenwich launches initiative to tackle childhood obesity

Published on Friday, 13 January 2017

Sugar Smart Greenwich promotes the use of low sugar alternatives.

Healthy living recognised in Royal Greenwich

Published on Wednesday, 23 November 2016

The Royal Borough of Greenwich has won two awards for its work to encourage healthier workplaces.

Special week of activity to mark World AIDS Day

Published on Wednesday, 23 November 2016

The awareness week will remind people of the importance of good sexual health.

Find out what you can treat with antibiotics

Published on Friday, 11 November 2016

Antibiotic Awareness Week takes place between 14 to 20 November 2016.

Defendants plead guilty to misusing Blue Badges

Published on Tuesday, 08 November 2016

Fines were issued to three defendants at Bexley Magistrates' Court on 31 October 2016.

Milestone figure reached for health champions

Published on Thursday, 03 November 2016

The Royal Borough has become the first local authority in London to train a thousand local health champions.

Kick the smoking habit and raise money for charity

Published on Friday, 30 September 2016

Stoptober is back and is urging smokers to join in the challenge.

Extending sexual health services in the borough

Published on Monday, 26 September 2016

Making it easier for people to access community services in a way that suits them.

Changes to the Blue Badge application service

Published on Friday, 26 August 2016

From 5 September, Blue Badge applications and renewals must be completed online.

Quicker, Easier, Blue Badge applications online

Published on Monday, 01 August 2016

The Blue Badge application process for disabled service users is now quicker and easier than ever before thanks to a new online form.

Further recognition for Royal Borough's Well London Programme

Published on Monday, 04 July 2016

Cllr David Gardner, Cabinet Member for Health and Adult Social Care, joined health professionals from across Europe to see the trailblazing Well London Programme in action in Woolwich last week.