Who can get a Blue Badge

You'll automatically get a Blue Badge if you:

  • receive the higher rate of the mobility component of the Disability Living Allowance
  • receive the Personal Independence Payment with a score of eight or more points in the 'moving around' component
  • are severely sight impaired (blind)
  • receive the War Pensioner's Mobility Supplement
  • receive a benefit under the Armed Forces and Reserve Forces Compensation Scheme
  • receive the mobility component of PIP (Personal Independence Payment) and have obtained 10 points specifically for Descriptor E, under the “planning and following journeys” activity.

You may be able to get a Blue Badge if you:

  • have a permanent disability that means you can't walk or have difficulty walking
  • are receiving palliative care
  • have a severe disability in both arms so you're unable to use (or would have difficulty in using) parking meters
  • have a child under three who has a serious medical condition
  • have a hidden disability.

In this case, the council may ask you to attend a mobility assessment at the Woolwich Centre.

Hidden Disabilities

The Government amended the regulations on the 30 April 2019, to be implemented on 30 August 2019.

Some of the most common hidden disabilities include:

  • depression
  • anxiety
  • bipolar
  • agoraphobia
  • autism
  • ADHD
  • coeliac disease
  • crohn’s disease
  • colitis
  • myalgic Encephalopathy or ‘ME’
  • epilepsy
  • rheumatoid arthritis
  • chronic pain
  • lupus
  • cystic fibrosis.


An organisation can apply for a Blue Badge if it is used daily to transport large groups of disabled people who would qualify for a Blue Badge in their own right.