Nationally listed buildings

Buildings which are of 'special architectural or historic interest' are included on the National Heritage List for England (NHLE). Designation is carried out by the Secretary of State on the advice of Historic England. Strict criteria are applied, including (but not restricted to) the following:

  • architectural quality
  • technological or stylistic innovation
  • historic significance, whether social, economic, political, cultural or religious
  • association with important individuals or events
  • group value with other nationally listed buildings.

View an index of nationally listed buildings in Royal Greenwich

This is a summary list. Full list descriptions are available by searching the National Heritage List for England, administered by Historic England.

Grading of nationally listed buildings

Nationally listed buildings are classified according to three grades of significance:

  • Grade II – buildings of special interest
  • Grade II* – particularly important buildings of more than special interest
  • Grade I – buildings of outstanding interest.

Alterations and extensions to nationally listed buildings

A special kind of permission, known as Listed Building Consent (LBC), is required for any alteration to a listed building - internal or external - that would affect its special interest.

This is over and above any planning permission that may be needed. Where both kinds of permission are required, it is normal to make them at the same time.

LBC applications should be made to the Royal Borough, and are not subject to any fee. It is a criminal offence to carry out works to a listed building without the relevant consent.

Read more about works to nationally listed buildings