Changes to bin collection days

Waste, recycling and clinical waste collection dates in Royal Greenwich often change around bank holidays and any future changes to collection dates will appear here.

Revised collection dates over the Christmas and New Year Holidays

These new dates apply for waste and recycling collections only. Clinical waste collections are unaffected and will take place on your usual collection day. Normal collections for waste and recycling resume on Monday 7 January 2019.

Changes to collection days during the Christmas and New Year holidays
Usual collection day Revised collection day
Monday 24 December Monday 24 December
Tuesday 25 December Thursday 27 December
Wednesday 26 December Friday 28 December
Thursday 27 December Saturday 29 December
Friday 28 December Sunday 30 December
Monday 31 December Monday 31 December
Tuesday 1 January Wednesday 2 January
Wednesday 2 January Thursday 3 January
Thursday 3 January Friday 4 January
Friday 4 January Saturday 5 January

If you don't know your usual collection day, use our kerbside collection day finder:

Find your usual kerbside bin collection days

Free collections for real Christmas trees

Royal Greenwich will recycle your real Christmas tree as part of your weekly collection. If you would like us to collect your tree:

  • remove all decorations and the pot
  • place the tree at the front of your property - not in your green bin
  • make sure it is put out before 6am.

If you don't have a green-top bin you can still leave your tree at the front of your property.

If you live in a flat you should leave your real tree by the bin store.

You don't need to phone for a special collection.