Photo of buildings at Royal Arsenal

Published: Friday, 12th January 2024

A group of leading architects, urban designers and sustainability experts have been appointed to provide independent advice on the design of future development in Royal Greenwich.

The Greenwich Design Review Panel will help to shape development by providing advice and feedback on new buildings, landscapes and public spaces in the early stages of design.

Cllr Aidan Smith, Cabinet Member for Regeneration, said: "We’re delighted to have such an experienced, knowledgeable and diverse range of panel members supporting the borough. The Council is committed to delivering high quality housing, community facilities and open space that helps our residents live their best lives.

“The Design Review Panel will play a crucial role in ensuring new development protects Greenwich's unique character and heritage, and helps us to create healthy and well connected communities.”

The panel will review proposals for significant schemes including sites with groups of buildings, public realm schemes, masterplans and major transport projects to ensure they deliver inclusive, sustainable and high quality design.

It will be chaired by Jay Gort, architect and founding director of architecture practice, Gort Scott.

Jay said: "I am delighted to be chairing this panel. Greenwich is a borough with a rich history and a dynamic future, and I am excited to work alongside my fellow panel members to contribute to the development of spaces that reflect the unique character and aspirations of the community. We will aim to elevate design standards, promote sustainability, and ensure that Greenwich continues to thrive as a vibrant and inspiring place to live and work."

The panel features 24 members with a broad range of expertise and experience in architecture, design, landscape and ecology, conservation, transport and climate change including: Jay Gort, chair (Gort Scott), Ken Okonkwo, vice chair (Haworth Tompkins), Damion Burrows (Damion Marcus Burrows), Oli Davey (Urban Movement), Liza Fior (muf architecture/art), Olivia Forty (Wright & Wright Architects), Angeli Ganoo-Fletcher (PRP), Louise Goodison (Cazenove Architects), Jonathan Hagos (Freehaus), Simon Henley (Henley Halebrown Henley), Cannon Ivers (LDA Design), Ailish Killilea (The Townscape Consultancy), Matthew Lloyd (Matthew Lloyd Architects), Mike Martin (Turkington Martin), Graciela Moreno (Prior + Partners), Anagha Mujmudar-Potbhare (Grimshaw), Sherleen Pang (Ecolytik), Tricia Patel (Pollard Thomas Edwards), Tatiana von Preussen (vPPR Architects), Sohanna Srinivasan (Karakusevic Carson Architects), Gwilym Still (Max Fordham), David Storring (Morris+Company), Glyn Tully (Levitt Bernstein), James Turner (Mikhail Riches).

 A selection of panel members will meet regularly to review proposed major developments in the borough. Reviews will be managed externally by Frame Projects, to ensure the panel’s independence.