Types of road marking

Road markings are a cost-effective way of reducing accidents. The main types are listed below.

White carriageway markings

At junctions they indicate priorities, and as centre or lane lines they indicate the best line for vehicles to follow.

Lane arrows are used on approaches to traffic lights to show which lane to move into if you want to turn or carry on straight. 'SLOW' markings are often used on the approach to a hazard.

Areas of central cross hatching, or 'ghost island' markings, separate oncoming traffic, reducing traffic speed and providing safe right-turning areas. These, along with central traffic islands, play a major part in reducing motorcycle accidents.

Continuous white lines

Continuous white centre line markings must not be crossed and are used to prevent overtaking and reduce speeds on roads with poor visibility due to bends or hills. It is an offence to park in any section of road that is marked with a continuous white line. Such white lines may only be crossed by traffic that is turning right.

Yellow lines

You cannot park on a double yellow line, but you can park on a single yellow line outside of the times stated on signs situated either nearby the line or on a Controlled Parking Zone boundary sign.

Red routes

These are some of London's busiest and most important roads. They carry around 33 per cent of London's traffic every day.

Red routes have stopping restrictions in place to keep roads clear and improve traffic flow. You can usually identify them by their red no-stopping lines or signs along the route.

If you ignore the restrictions you may be fined, or your car could be towed away.

You can pay a fine (or penalty charge notice) on the Transport for London penalty charge notice payment website.

You can also view a map of red routes on the Transport for London website.

Find out more about road markings (Gov.UK website)