Transport and streets news

Giant vacuum cleaners to be deployed in town centre clean-up

Published on Thursday, 22 March 2018

The four giant vacuum cleaner type machines have arrived as part of our drive to have the cleanest streets in London.

Get help applying for a Blue Badge in Royal Greenwich

Published on Wednesday, 21 March 2018

Residents will soon be able to gain one-to-one help in applying for a Blue Badge.

Driving forward our clear air policy

Published on Monday, 19 March 2018

Eglinton Primary School children educated their parents by talking to them about idling engines and their impact on local air quality.

The 'missing link' is missing no more on Thames Path

Published on Friday, 16 March 2018

Work is underway completing the final 'missing link' in the Thames Path as it stretches from one end of the Royal Borough of Greenwich to the other.

Get on your bike this half-term

Published on Wednesday, 31 January 2018

There are two free courses available for families during Family Bike Week.

Six cars seized in a single day of action

Published on Thursday, 25 January 2018

The clean up is part of the Council's Operation Stop It! campaign.

Road narrowing scheme close to school makes a big impact

Published on Tuesday, 05 December 2017

Children from Halstow Road Primary School are benefiting from the scheme.

Autonomous driving one step closer

Published on Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Fully autonomous vehicles are nearer to arriving on the UK's streets, thanks to the latest round of ground-breaking research from MOVE_UK.

New cycling guide to be launched at Annual Cycling Forum

Published on Tuesday, 17 October 2017

The event will be a great chance to get latest cycling news and to have your say.

Car Free Day a big hit with local schoolchildren

Published on Tuesday, 26 September 2017

Twenty-five schools across Royal Greenwich took part in Transport for London's STARS Car Free Day on 22 September.

Lamborghini driver pleads guilty to misusing stolen Blue Badge

Published on Tuesday, 11 July 2017

The driver pleaded guilty and was fined over £700 for using a stolen Blue Badge.

Car-free day for Greenwich + Docklands International Festival

Published on Wednesday, 14 June 2017

On Sunday 25 June, the car-free day will make it easy to enjoy GDIF's outdoor performances.

Woman pleads guilty to misusing dead person's disabled Blue Badge

Published on Wednesday, 03 May 2017

The Royal Borough continues to pursue and catch Blue Badge fraudsters.

Free family cycling sessions over the Easter holidays

Published on Monday, 20 March 2017

The Royal Borough is offering a series of free cycling sessions for the whole family.

Lords Committee visits driverless vehicle research project

Published on Wednesday, 07 December 2016

The Committee visited the GATEway Project in the Royal Borough of Greenwich on 6 December.

Give your opinion on driverless vehicles

Published on Friday, 28 October 2016

The first driverless cars arrive in Greenwich in November as part of an £8m project.

London Mayor's greener river crossing proposals to benefit Royal Greenwich

Published on Tuesday, 04 October 2016

The Council welcomes the new plans while continuing to call for a Gallions Reach bridge.

Come along to the second annual Cycling Forum meeting

Published on Tuesday, 27 September 2016

The Forum gets underway on Monday 17 October at 7pm in Woolwich Town Hall.

GS Plus Fleet Management wins prestigious award

Published on Tuesday, 20 September 2016

The team won the APSE Best Service Team in Transport and Fleet Maintenance Service award.

Hop on your bike for Cycle to Work Day

Published on Thursday, 08 September 2016

Residents who commute by bike can get free route planning and safety training.

New plaque for Greenwich Foot Tunnel unveiled

Published on Wednesday, 06 July 2016

A new visitor information plaque that charts the history of the foot tunnel at Greenwich has been unveiled by representatives of a local appreciation society and the Royal Borough of Greenwich.

New technology trial in Royal Borough foot tunnels

Published on Wednesday, 15 June 2016

'Smart' technology will measure the number of cyclists and pedestrians using the tunnels.

Greenwich community invited to share thoughts on driverless vehicles

Published on Friday, 13 May 2016

People who live, work, study or travel in Royal Greenwich are being invited to have their say on driverless vehicles as part of the GATEway (Greenwich Automated Transport Environment) project.

Royal Borough offers discount locks and free bicycle marking

Published on Wednesday, 11 May 2016

The Royal Borough of Greenwich, in partnership with TfL, is offering reduced cost locks and free bicycle marking to residents and students.

Some local roads closed for London Marathon 2016

Published on Friday, 01 April 2016

Virgin Money London Marathon runs through the Royal Borough on Sunday 24 April.

Get on your bike for Family Bike Week

Published on Thursday, 31 March 2016

It's Family Bike Week at the Waterway Children's Centre from 4 to 8 April and there's lots to do.

ECO Stars scheme launched to tackle air pollution

Published on Thursday, 17 March 2016

The Royal Borough of Greenwich is working with local commercial fleet operators in a new scheme that will improve air quality on local roads.