Greenwich

Community and living news

LGBTQ+ community celebrated at event

Published on Thursday, 16 November 2017

The colours of the rainbow flag lit up Woolwich Town Hall during an event marking 50 years since homosexuality was partially decriminalised.

Eltham War Memorial listed by Historic England

Published on Monday, 13 November 2017

Pupils from Eltham Church of England Primary laid a wreath to celebrate its listing.

Remembrance services and wreath laying ceremonies

Published on Wednesday, 18 October 2017

Remembrance events will be taking place over the weekend of 10 to 12 November.

#GreenwichTogether for Hate Crime Awareness Week

Published on Tuesday, 03 October 2017

The Royal Borough of Greenwich will be launching a week of activities on 14 October.

Free festival celebrates older generation

Published on Thursday, 07 September 2017

The Forever Young Festival is designed to bring older people together.

Reduce the Strength campaign given a boost

Published on Thursday, 24 August 2017

A campaign day was held on Friday 18 August in Trafalgar Road, Greenwich.

First stage of foot tunnel bye-law changes agreed

Published on Friday, 21 July 2017

The bye-laws control the use of Greenwich and Woolwich foot tunnels.

A borough united in stopping knife crime

Published on Wednesday, 19 July 2017

The Royal Borough is partnering with schools, agencies and the Metropolitan Police.

Staying safe during the summer months

Published on Tuesday, 18 July 2017

A reminder of the best ways to help you and your belongings.

Fly-tipper fined £500 within 24 hours of the offence

Published on Tuesday, 11 July 2017

The resident was also ordered to pay costs towards the clearance of the fly-tip.

Royal Borough waives child burial and cremation fees

Published on Monday, 10 July 2017

Fees are being waived in three boroughs to help families coping with bereavement.

Properties ordered to close following Council action in court

Published on Thursday, 08 June 2017

People in the properties were engaged in anti-social behaviour and criminal activity.

Royal Greenwich leaders pledge: We stand together

Published on Monday, 05 June 2017

Faith and community leaders met Council leaders to condemn London Bridge attack.

Greenwich leaders stand together to condemn London Bridge attack

Published on Sunday, 04 June 2017

Royal Greenwich and faith leaders have issued statements following the atrocity.

National retailers caught selling blades to underage customers

Published on Friday, 19 May 2017

We are working with the Met Police to prevent the sale of potential weapons.

Royal Borough works with the police to tackle knife crime

Published on Friday, 12 May 2017

We participated in Operation Sceptre 8, the London-wide crackdown on knife crime.

Outstanding contributions recognised at the Civic Awards 2017

Published on Friday, 24 March 2017

More than 30 local people received awards across eight categories.

International Women's Day celebrated in the Royal Borough

Published on Thursday, 02 March 2017

Come along to the Tramshed in Woolwich on 8 March for the #BeBoldforChange event.

Fairtrade Fortnight comes to the Royal Borough

Published on Monday, 27 February 2017

Two special free events are being held on Sunday 5 March at Charlton House.

Holocaust Memorial Day to be marked in Royal Greenwich

Published on Wednesday, 18 January 2017

Victims of the Holocaust and subsequent genocides will be remembered.

Nominations open for the Civic Awards 2017

Published on Monday, 16 January 2017

Let us know about who deserves recognition for their work in the community.

Royal Greenwich residents awarded honours by the Queen

Published on Friday, 06 January 2017

Congratulations to the five local people named in the New Year's Honours list.

Warning to shoplifters as Christmas season approaches

Published on Monday, 21 November 2016

The Safer Greenwich Partnership is using a range of measures to prevent shoplifting.

Meet local police officers at the Safer Greenwich meeting

Published on Monday, 21 November 2016

Residents are strongly encouraged to come along to the meeting on 1 December 2016.

Working with partners to tackle hate crime

Published on Wednesday, 26 October 2016

A series of community events were held as part of a special week of action.

Royal Borough working with police to crack down on knife crime

Published on Friday, 21 October 2016

We have taken measures in support of the Metropolitan Police's Operation Sceptre 6.

Greenwich in Bloom 2016 winners announced

Published on Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Praise for the beautiful award winning gardens in our annual contest.

Remembrance services and wreath laying ceremonies 2016

Published on Friday, 14 October 2016

Remembrance events will be taking place over the weekend of 11 to 13 November.

Council works with National Trading Standards to tackle illegal lending

Published on Wednesday, 12 October 2016

Residents urged to report loan sharks and encouraged to save for the future.

How to report and identify hate crime

Published on Wednesday, 05 October 2016

Hate Crime Awareness Week runs from 10 October and the Council is running events to support victims.

Notice of disposal - The Dutch House, Sidcup Road, SE12 9AL

Published on Thursday, 29 September 2016

Eligible groups have time to bid on this 'asset of community value' before it can be sold.

Beware of scammers claiming to be the Council

Published on Wednesday, 21 September 2016

Two numbers 07502 339 277 and 07855 855 508 have been used by the scammers.

Sign up for a new challenge and become a Tall Ships Trainee

Published on Friday, 09 September 2016

The Royal Borough of Greenwich is looking for sail trainees to join the crew of a fleet of Tall Ships, sailing to Portugal from Saturday 15 April to Sunday 30 April 2017.

Hate Crime Awareness Week launches next month

Published on Wednesday, 07 September 2016

The Royal Borough of Greenwich will be launching a week of activities in October as part of the national Hate Crime Awareness Week campaign.

Early success with Woolwich Public Space Protection Order

Published on Friday, 19 August 2016

Woolwich residents and traders have reported an improved family-friendly atmosphere.

Nominate a local voluntary group for The Queen's Award

Published on Wednesday, 10 August 2016

It's your chance to show your appreciation for the great work of our community groups.

Celebrate World Breastfeeding Week from 1 August 2016

Published on Monday, 01 August 2016

Raising awareness and celebrating the benefits of breastfeeding for new parents.

Bellissimo Beresford Square!

Published on Tuesday, 26 July 2016

Mouth-watering and healthy new food stalls have come to Beresford Square, Woolwich.

New power to combat street drinking and anti-social behaviour

Published on Thursday, 07 July 2016

Public Space Protection Order in Woolwich Town Centre came into force on 11 July.

Swift action on anti-social behaviour

Published on Wednesday, 06 July 2016

A tenant who repeatedly caused a nuisance to his neighbours and his community has been served a closure order on his property for his reckless behaviour.

Greenwich Together: Standing up against hate crime

Published on Tuesday, 05 July 2016

Report any hate crime to the police and contact us if you need support.

Orlando shooting: Council united with Greenwich LBGT community

Published on Monday, 13 June 2016

Deepest condolences were sent by Royal Greenwich to the people of Orlando, USA.

Royal Borough crime rates fall by 17.4 per cent

Published on Friday, 20 May 2016

The Royal Borough of Greenwich has welcomed new figures showing a 17.4 per cent drop in crime rates for the royal borough.

Over 100 businesses signed up to the London Living Wage in Royal Greenwich

Published on Friday, 20 May 2016

One hundred and four businesses in Greenwich have achieved accreditation as Living Wage employers and have committed to paying their workers no less than £9.15 an hour.

Bureau de Change scam warning

Published on Friday, 13 May 2016

Residents are asked to be especially vigilant for scammers purporting to be from high street banks claiming that Euros have been fraudulently deposited in their accounts.

Nominate your military 'veteran of the year' 2016

Published on Friday, 06 May 2016

Do you know a veteran who lives in the Royal Borough who deserves recognition?

One year to go until Royal Greenwich Tall Ships Festival 2017

Published on Wednesday, 13 April 2016

The countdown has now begun until a fleet of tall ships gather in Woolwich and Greenwich.

The Queen's 90th Birthday Beacons

Published on Friday, 08 April 2016

Come and join the Royal Borough of Greenwich celebrations for the Queen's 90th birthday on Thursday 21 April.

Anti knife crime campaign parents' evening

Published on Friday, 01 April 2016

Parents learnt about the wealth of resources and support groups available to those worried about gang and knife crime at a seminar hosted by the Royal Borough of Greenwich on the 14 March.

Body worn video cameras for town centre wardens

Published on Friday, 01 April 2016

The Royal Borough of Greenwich's town centre wardens have been issued with state-of-the art, body worn cameras to provide further support and reassurance to the public.

Service recognised as five people awarded the Freedom of the Borough

Published on Tuesday, 29 March 2016

Five local people were honoured at a special ceremony held in the Town Hall on 23 March.

Police issue message of support for community and safety reminder

Published on Wednesday, 23 March 2016

The police have sent a message of reassurance to local people after the Brussels attacks.

Royal Greenwich celebrates 10 years supporting Fairtrade

Published on Thursday, 03 March 2016

On 29 February Royal Greenwich celebrated its 10th year of supporting for Fairtrade with an event at the Town Hall enjoyed by over 200 local school children.

Events in local libraries to mark World Book Day

Published on Friday, 26 February 2016

Celebrate World Book Day in Royal Greenwich on 3 and 4 March 2016.

Wash and brush up for Queen's 90th birthday

Published on Monday, 08 February 2016

Royal Greenwich will help the Queen celebrate her 90th birthday this June.

Fight for rights is highlighted in LGBT History Month

Published on Wednesday, 03 February 2016

The experiences of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender people and their fight for rights are highlighted in a series of events to mark Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LBGT) History Month.

Get safe online

Published on Thursday, 28 January 2016

Millions of people in the UK are defrauded by internet and phone scams every year - and the council is urging everyone to be aware of the tricksters.

Victims to be remembered on Holocaust Memorial Day

Published on Wednesday, 13 January 2016

The council will remember Holocaust and genocide victims in a ceremony in Woolwich.

Time to nominate your local heroes

Published on Tuesday, 12 January 2016

People who have made outstanding contributions to everyday life in the Royal Borough will be publicly honoured in this year's Civic Awards 2016.

Young people honoured for keeping services on track

Published on Thursday, 10 December 2015

Young people in the Royal Borough of Greenwich who help to assess the quality of health and support services have been recognised at an awards ceremony.

Youth Offending Service showing a strong improvement

Published on Tuesday, 08 December 2015

Greenwich's Youth Offending Service has become one of the top three in England after showing a strong improvement over the last four years.

Support for domestic abuse victims

Published on Tuesday, 08 December 2015

Victims of domestic violence are being reminded of the help available in the run up to the festive season when cases of abuse tend to peak.

Live training exercise for emergency services and Army

Published on Monday, 30 November 2015

Emergency Services and Armed Forces take part in emergency response exercise in Woolwich.

Remembrance memorial commemorates eleven local heroes

Published on Tuesday, 10 November 2015

Eleven local heroes have been remembered at a poignant service in Woolwich.