Diploma levels

Diplomas are educational programmes offering realistic learning about key employment sectors.

Three levels

The Foundation Diploma (level one)

This is equivalent to up to five GCSE D to G grades and can lead on to level two qualifications or employment.

The Higher Diploma (level two)

This is equivalent to up to seven GCSE A* to C grades and can lead on to level three qualifications, an apprenticeship or employment.

The Advanced Diploma (level three)

This is equivalent to 3.5 A levels or 420 UCAS points and can lead on to higher education or employment.

What Diploma programmes include

All Diploma programmes include:

  • principal learning which develops knowledge, skills and attitudes appropriate for the sector
  • specialist or additional learning, which each student can choose from a range of qualifications to suit their own interests and aspirations
  • functional skills and personal, learning and thinking skills which develop your ability to work in employment settings and for further study
  • project work which involves independent research and enquiry
  • a minimum of ten days' work experience.

Benefits of a Diploma

Completion of a Diploma will lead to a wide range of options, including:

  • employment
  • apprenticeships
  • higher education degree programmes.