School term dates

Term dates 2020 to 2021

School terms and holiday dates are shown here for the school year beginning in September 2020. These dates apply to all community and voluntary controlled nursery, primary, secondary and special schools.

In 2020/21 pupils should attend for 190 days (or 380 half sessions).

Schools which close for local elections are required to extend the summer term or coincide it with an 'inset' day.

Academies, free and voluntary aided schools have similar dates, but it is recommended that you check with individual schools.

Term one

Term time: Wednesday 2 September to Friday 23 October 2020.

Half-term holiday: Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2020.

Term two

Term time: Monday 2 November to Friday 18 December 2020.

Christmas and New Year holiday: Monday 21 December 2020 to Friday 1 January 2021.

Term three

Term time: Monday 4 January to Friday 12 February 2021.

Half-term holiday: Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021.

Term four

Term time: Monday 22 February to Wednesday 31 March 2021.

Easter holiday: Thursday 1 April to Friday 16 April 2021.

Term five

Term time: Monday 19 April to Friday 28 May 2021 (except May Day bank holiday on 3 May).

Half-term holiday: Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June 2021 (spring bank holiday on 31 May).

Term six

Term time: Monday 7 June to Friday 23 July 2021.